you're reading...
Food

My Favorite Things: Recipe Edition

So I’ve been thinking about my Mom a lot this week.  It frustrates me that I can’t seem to blog about her in a way that really shows what an amazing woman she was to her family and to everyone else who knew her.  I’m letting go of that and focusing on what I can share.  Two weeks ago I shared a favorite picture of the two of us.  This week I want to really break the motorcycle theme and share one of my favorite dishes from her.

Title

Growing up, there were a few standard meals Mom put on the table.  One of my favorite was Salmon Patties paired with good old Kraft Macaroni and Cheese.  When I got together with Mr. Man and learned his food preferences, I thought he would never enjoys the Salmon Patties so I never learned to make them.  One day we were at my old house having dinner with the family and my Mom suggested Salmon Patties for dinner.  He agreed and she made them…and he loved them.  I immediately asked her about how to make them.  It’s not so much a recipie as it is instructions.  It took me about four tries to get it right and some nights it turns out super yummy and some nights it’s just tasty.  But it always makes me think of her and I love sharing her food with my loved ones.

I make this with boxed Mac and Cheese.  If you want to make your own homemade Mac and Cheese, that’s cool.  I also think this would go great on top of a spinach and spring mix salad with a nice Pinot Noir.  My mother added chopped onions but I don’t.  Something I think about adding some fresh dill but that wouldn’t go over as well in my house.  If that sounds good to you, then go for it.  I also don’t salt and pepper mine but that’s personal preference.  Nothing stopping you from seasoning the patties before you fry them up.

 

Mom’s Salmon Patties and Boxed Macaroni and Cheese:

1 14.75 ounce can of Salmon (drained)

1 Egg

1 Sleeve of saltine crackers

1 Box of Mac and Cheese and ingredients listed on box

indgredients

Start water boiling for macaroni

In a mixing bowl add drained salmon and egg.

SalmonEgg

Crumble crackers into the mixture a bit at a time and mix by hand until the mixture holds together but is still moist.  I use about 1/4 of a sleeve.  Go slow with the crackers because you can add more but you can’t take them away.  If you find the mixture is too dry you can add another egg.

Mixed

Form the mixture into patties.  I can get six patties but it’s going to depend on how big you make them.  Set patties aside.

Formed

 

Once water for macaroni is about to boil, heat some oil in a pan large enough for your patties.  I like olive oil but it’s up to you.  You could skip the oil but you’ll really have to watch the patties to make sure they don’t burn.  The more oil you use the prettier and crisper your patties will be but the more unhealthy they will be.  Again, up to you.

Once your water is boiling, make the macaroni according to the box directions and put the patties in the pan.  Cook patties over a medium heat for about 4 minutes each side.  Your pasta should need to cook about 8 minutes so 4 minutes a side means patties and pasta are done at the same time.

goldenbrown

After Patties are cooked, finish up the macaroni and cheese according to the box’s instructions and enjoy!

Finished

And thats it!  Thanks for letting me share a memory of my mom and my childhood with you.  I hope you enjoyed this non-motorcycle post.  If you did, feel free to share with your friends.  Next week I want to explore the concept of solitude and motorcycles so stay tuned.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Who is Sidecar Adventures?

I'm just a Girl with a 1975 BMW R90/6 rigged to a 2006 Ural Retro Sidecar and a 2002 BMW 1150GS rigged to a DMC Sidecar. This is the story of my life on the road, in the garage, in my kitchen, my closet and, on occasion, in my makeup collection. I'm a Femme with a wrench, you have been warned.
Follow Sidecar Adventures on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

